Day 1,783

After our family’s trip, last month, to the Outerbanks, I decided to take be more proactive in taking practical steps toward my future. At Kitty Hawk National Monument, there are exhibits where we saw journals of the Wright brothers’ time leading up to the time of their first flights. Reading their journals inspired me to put some of my dreams into writing. “Day 1,783” marks the commence of my log. No, this is not a stardated log for those of you Trekkies out there. This is also not your average captain’s log. In fact, this log marks the beginning of a countdown. A reverse-ordered chronicle that ends with a beginning. That’s right, you heard me. This idea has simmering for a while and it’s time that I come out with it. There are 1,783 days until March 31, 2017. 

For what feels like the past two years, I’ve been in some kind of funk. My primary care physician and psychiatrist think it’s a lack of serotonin. And it may be that. That might, also, explain my inability to maintain anything less than an “overweight” BMI. Oh well! As far as the weight issue goes, I’ll keep you posted. But in the meantime, just know this:That’s right, I got into an associate’s degree program for commercial photography, lighting and marketing. This is one of the first practical steps I must take in order to make March 31, 2017 a successful reality. It’s 1,783 days until I set sail for a journey to the south China sea. Along my journey in 2017 I intend to sail through the east seas and try to make it to asiatic parts of Turkey. It’s so long until March 2017 but such a short time, as well!

Last night I scanned an old journal cover of mine to show on the blog as it went into the garbage bin. One thing I am beginning to realize is that holding onto much or little in this life won’t change who I am or what happens so I’d rather live “lightly” on the possessions-ends.

It’s been a while since I posted anything on crunchy little bites and I cannot quite figure out why that is but I will try to honor my desire to write regularly and hopefully see you all soon!

Have YOU any plans simmering in your head? Any big plans you’ve though of for 2017, already, like me?

2 responses

  1. Jasper, I’m excited about your new adventures! I hope that you enjoy your program- can’t wait to hear more about it. 🙂

    June 5, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    • Julie, Thank you for your wishes. I appreciate you supporting me in my little hopes! Love, Jasper

      June 5, 2012 at 11:21 pm

write your comment here!

