I’m gunna eat an unhealthy fat

{source}

This morning I considered frying up some bacon to go along with eggs. However, I threw together an oaty, amaranthy, eggy hot cereal mixture and topped it with berries and butter. I do not eat the latter for breakfast because I am frightened of FATS, though. Are you afraid of “UNHEALTHY FATS?” If anything, I’d love to argue to there should be no labeling of fats as “healthy” or “unhealthy.” Where are the limits for such labels? More and more I read about consuming “healthy” vs. “unhealthy” fats and wonder over this, ultimately, arbitrary terminology.

i shot breakfast

The truth is blurry, I suppose. I would argue that if we are going to but “good” and “bad” labels on fats, then we also give license to label anything as “good” and “bad.” Isn’t that just a bit extreme? “This day was [GOOD] or [BAD].” I hear that one a lot. And it’s not social taboo or anything but what are the implications of statements like that? To me, it means that if I have mostly “gray” days or “mediocre” days, which I think most of us experience in the majority of our days, then my day is insignificant…

I digress. It’s not that I am against “fast food” or “junk food,” even. Who doesn’t like a nice serving of curly fries now and again? I will tell you, though, that the smell of fast food doesn’t appeal to me and, furthermore, can make me a bit queasy if someone in the office walks by with Chick-fil-a take-out bag. When people label fats as “healthy” or “unhealthy,” it send the message that one “should” or “should not” eat “unhealthy” or “healthy” fats, almost as if one would be making a MORALLY profound decision each time the choose between walnuts or pig fat. Sheesh.

{source}

Please do not misunderstand. By no means am I trying to argue that eating bacon three meals a day for your entire life won’t put your arteries at greater risk for disease.  Perhaps I am just attempting to reiterate a more reasonable, and relatively antiquated but realistic, suggestion that moderation is key.

What do you think, REALLY, of “healthy” vs. “unhealthy” fats? Do you put your real view where your mouth is? 

…and for the lighter conversation: What are your weekend plans? What did YOU eat for breakfast?

happy friday all! ~ Jasper

12 responses

  1. ah yes fat, a favorite topic of mine. I agree with you… sure we all have opinions about what is healthy vs unhealthy…. but can we say for CERTAIN? no. And what is healthy for one person can truly be unhealthy for the next. Love my bacon but no, I don’t eat it everyday… and I’m trying to move as far away from labels as I can lately 🙂

    March 30, 2012 at 9:49 am

    • As much as I’d love to hear that everyone just agrees with my opinion, I really do appreciate the each person has their own, and a right to that, view. Moving away from labels sounds like something of which anyone could use a bit more !

      March 30, 2012 at 10:11 am

  2. All I want to eat right now is bacon (mostly after seeing that picture) but, having gone pescatarian for Lent, I have a little while left…. When it comes to “healthy” and “unhealthy” fats, I think folks probably overdo it on the nut butters a little (It’s a healthy fat so I enjoyed 1/2 cup!) but other than that, I never feel bad adding lots of avocado to my salads…. Meh, healthy, unhealthy, I figure if you’re gonna eat fat why not go for the natural kind?

    I still want bacon. So this weekend…. I’ll just dream about it.

    March 30, 2012 at 9:59 am

    • pah hah! you’re hilarious “1/2 cup!” of nut butter. You’re lightness in prose makes everything extra funny.

      And as much I’d like to sit here all day and just scrutinize what’s “wrong” about others’ lifestyle choices, I could get off my butt and live well without worrying over other people’s decisions.

      thanks for helping us all lighten up, Jordan! 🙂

      March 30, 2012 at 10:30 am

  3. shrinkinggretch

    It’s always an interesting topic to think about. When it really boils down to it, even modern science is continually reevaluating what is determined as a “healthy” or “unhealthy” fat. 15 years ago, butter was horrible for you and margarine was widely proclaimed to be the “healthier” choice. But we now know that the opposite is true. I think that deprivation of a specific food source in any form is rarely the healthy choice, unless it’s for ethical or food allergy/intolerance reasons. Coconut oil was at one point condemned as the worst kind of fat for you, and now studies are showing that it might be good for you. I think that as long as you are trying to balance out your diet with wholesome, natural ingredients, you’re going to be fine in the end. And probably a lot happier if you include a little bacon along the way, too. 🙂

    March 30, 2012 at 10:12 am

    • I had coconut butter this morning and thought “oh no, if only all those ‘healthy living bloggers’ saw this SATURATED fat on my bfast” and then shut myself up with “Jasper, seriously quit expending your energy on living life according to others’ judgements”

      thanks for responding, Gretchen, I knew I wanted to hear your opinion!

      March 30, 2012 at 10:33 am

  4. Here’s my take on it, it’s pretty simple. Eat real food most of the time. If that means bacon and butter, great. Obviously, it doesn’t take a genius to figure out eating those two specific things day in and day out will cause some health problems though so eating “real food” can’t be used as an excuse to eat that kind of stuff. I could talk about this forever but what it boils down to for me is to just “use your head”, you know? Eat real food but as with everything keep moderation in mind. Butter and bacon are fine as long as you’re not eating sticks and 10 slices of it every day…

    March 30, 2012 at 10:27 am

    • thanks for responding Gina! — Isn’t true that Bilbo Baggins, although a fictional fantasy character, lived late into his 100’s on 7-11 “unhealthy + healthy” saturated/whatever-kind-of-fat saturated meals each day?! 🙂 the ring did prolong his life…nonetheless…you’re right: USE THAT NOGGIN’ …after all, it;s easy for me to just get caught up in what other people think and I find myself taking advice from others’ PERSONAL stories over what worked for THEM (not what might work for ME, necessarily)

      as always, I love your practicality…

      March 30, 2012 at 10:36 am

  5. Mildly Entertained

    I think you are thinking too much. It’s just food. Eat mostly healthy ones and it will take card of it itself. 🙂

    March 30, 2012 at 10:44 am

    • thank you…more or less isn’t my health just going to take it’s course if I am reasonable about what I do or do not eat ? (but you’re also right in that I am thinking too much)

      March 30, 2012 at 10:56 am

  6. I think it’s healthy to eat foods that are totally delicious and totally not good for you…every now and then.

    March 30, 2012 at 5:30 pm

write your comment here!

