family ii

this week has been rough for our family. my grandfather and grandmother who live in Africa have not been doing well in their health…constant updates from my family pain me because I am powerless over being able to help my grandpa and grandma “feel” better. being SO FAR away makes my inability to offer any comfort even worse.

small goal for today (in keeping up with yesterday’s post): a. memorize manageable (for me, jasper 🙂 ) scripture for this week: Psalm 33:22 and Micah 6:8…b. find something at WORK for which to be grateful (and there’s LOTS of things from which to choose!) 1. band aids and antibiotic ointment from the first aid kit FREE and available to me at the workplace, thank you Duke! 2. pink nail polish that makes me smile when I glance at my fingers dancing over the keyboard (provided, courtesy of Duke! thank you 🙂 )

what are your goals for today? this week?

what are you grateful for about your workplace, wherever you find yourself working (home, remotely, with the kiddos etc.)?

how do you cope with feeling “so far away” from loved ones?

2 responses

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your grandparents. I know it must be so hard being that far away. Hang in there girl!! Sending my thoughts your way! My family lives about a 3hr plane ride away. It’s not easy when there is something like this taking place. The best way I cope is talking on the phone with my mom as much as possible and making sure to get in workouts, which help to distract me.

    January 5, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    • Ashley, hearing and taking in your advice helps SO MUCH…others who benefit from words of encouragement probably know how I feel when I say, thank you, to you for your advice! I’ll keep up with my workouts – I do notice they help – and other healthy distractions like reading, photography and being with the family here in the USA…my cousins tim kate and their little boy james will come up to be with my aunt and me this weekend, hopefully my cousin, sara, who’s in med school at wake will drive over to us in Durham, too…so good to hear from someone in CO who know the NC country, Ashley! much love! – jasper naomi

      January 5, 2012 at 12:10 pm

write your comment here!

