choices – Donald Altman

Since October I have been reading in this daily meditation book that involves meal time and how I view food, in general (and specifically). It’s great, and today I want to share, straight from the text cited, with you!

Fight your shame. Throw your pride and learn all you can from others. This is the basis of a successful life. – Sen Rikyu, Sixteenth-Century Tea Master
Your meals represent a series of choices. Each choice is like a step that takes you in a particular direction. Over the years, similar choices, or habits, can lead you very far in one direction.
Ultimately, though, you are always free to choose another direction. You are always free to take a new step that is beyond habitual choice. Remember that healthy eating is also a habit and that change is always possible.
What one small acheivable step can you take today? Even if you choose to eat one bite of a food that you think would be beneficial for you, it is enough for now. What would that food be? What foods not on your current ‘choice’ list could contribute to your well being? What new small choice would you like to try today? – Donald Altman, Meal by Meal

You know, I was JUST going to begin a little post series on small goals for the new year. How many of you have BIG new year’s resolutions? How many of you do not believe in them?

One thing I though of yesterday was this: “Why not try to set a small goal each day, or perhaps one goal per week or per month, as a way of testing whether I can, even, achieve one?!”

How many of us, or perhaps it’s just me, set unrealistic goals that I can never achieve and, sometimes before I even begin to try and reach that goal, fail always? Lately I have tried setting one goal per week, like: “Deliver signed HR papers to Broad Street, Durham.” Hey, it seems silly, yes, but if I can set that goal and reach it, I’ve proved that I can do something. Perhaps if it is only to begin by setting small goals for ourselves, we realize that increasing those, or any, goals in siZE, gradually, may see us through to achieving those ones too!

begin small this year….and perhaps, gradually, you will see more and moRE of your goals set, ACHIEVED! – have a lovely day! – jasper naomi

5 responses

  1. didi

    good word Jasper

    January 4, 2012 at 10:20 am

    • Didi!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks man. I enjoy your words up on the CGS blog, too. keep ’em comin’!

      January 4, 2012 at 11:09 am

  2. disclaimer: the ideas in this post are STRICTLY those of the person’s sharing them (me πŸ™‚ ) and you are welcome to take what you’f like, all, none, a sentence, some, etc….I do not necessary support or agree with ALL of what I read from Donald Altman. However, I think he makes valid points and share compelling ideas…he gleans from interesting precepts, as well

    January 4, 2012 at 11:08 am

  3. Pingback: family ii « crunchy little bites | jasper naomi

write your comment here!

