bird seed

I am, often, told that the foods I create are weird. Well this one’s no different folks! After purchasing boxes and boxes and boxes of packaged snack bars, my budget see’s this strange bulge in it’s grocery field. So in an effort to try and reduce unnecessary spending, I am trying to develop my own secret recipe for the perfect snack bar, of sorts. For now, I’ll just tell you that their might be pulverized dried apricot involved plus almonds, walnuts, cashews, food-processor-processed raisins and prunes. There may be a few other ingredients included on the list, as well.

Nonetheless, there may also be banana slices in the oven currently, cooking down to sticky banana for the next three hours. And that’s because I’m going to develop a banana nana bar recipe tonight or tomorrow. For these bird bars, I food processed the cashew, almond and walnuts separately from all of the other ingredients. And then I food processed the raisins, prunes and apricots.

Afterward, I combined all of the ingredients with salt, unsulphured blackstrap molasses and some uncooked quinoa for kicks.

Emptying the mixture onto cling wrap and using a rolling pin to even out the mixture was easy, too!Yum o!

Wendy and her family tried some but they did not seem to be so keep on the “date’-like” flavor.

After rolling out the mixture, I sliced the creation into snack-bar-sized pieces.

My aunt seemed to like them! She carried one to work with her this past Friday for a snack!

Have a wonderful windy Tuesday! (is windy here in NC anyhow!) much love – jasper

3 responses

  1. I have a feeling I’d like these bars!!

    January 4, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    • char! i just got word back from this compostable material/green company for packaging products so i’d like to develop a final recipe and then i can package them (after getting my kitchen approved) and send some to ya, just for kicks! stay tuned… 😀 – jasper naomi

      January 4, 2012 at 4:16 pm

  2. Pingback: a special homecoming granola «

write your comment here!

