the parfait

My friend Wendy commented that she “recognize[d] less than half of the items in [her] refrigeration…creepy?” I don’t think it’s so creepy, especially when she can hear me using the blender in the kitchen! She’s got to have some inclination that I mightn’t be filling her fridge with weird concoctions 🙂

Here’s one of the creations, just one of my gifts unwrapped today and this week 🙂

So I took this cloudy photo while in an airplane and I think that airplanes are some of the finest places for photo-ops! Try it next time you fly.

In this post inspired by Tuesdays Unwrapped, I’d to include this Tim Keller quote from a sermon of his to which I recently listened “The difference between a limp-along life – a common life – and a transformed life – a life just SHOT-THROUGH with thanksgiving and JOY – is NOT just the difference between not believing in God and believing in God, rather it’s the difference between not believing in God and WORSHIP. Worship – to see and grasp His worth in such a way that you begin to live in accordance with it – its existential essence; it’s ascribing ultimate value to God in such a way that it galvanizes, electrifies and changes your whole life, that’s what worship is!”

“So why should we worship this?” Keller asks why should we want to see what God is worth and GIVE Him what He’s worth!? to GRASP his worth!? Well, we worship plenty of things people and places don’t we? And Keller also points that there are some practical approaches to knowing how-to or whether we are actually experiencing worship He mentions making sure we’re in community, around people and understanding submission to a self-revelation of God. It’s beautiful that the psalmist is struggling, and probably struggling more than I’ve struggled today or any day, yet never asks for a change of circumstance “O come, let us sing unto the LORD…For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods…let us kneel before the LORD our maker!” Psalm 95. This morning my purse fell in cedar shavings which, if this has ever happened to you, is about as difficult to get out of cloth as glitter is to get out of hair…and ALL day yesterday and today my abdomen has been aching!!!!!!!!!!!! And how many times have I cursed God for the pain I feel? – too many times (and one would be too many, mind you I’ve cursed Him more than once). Perhaps today a part of my gifts would be unwrapping hope that I will worship and connect with my maker no matter what “feelings” come along.

Perhaps you, too, could read Psalm 95 and let us know your response to the scripture…then post it here 🙂

or you can just let me know if you think my parfait looks GROSS or looks YUMMY

3 responses

  1. yum

    December 13, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  2. Jasper, your photos are amazing. Just like we neeed the view out the cabin door we are also dependant on the microbs in the glass. So opposite in beauty (unless your a biologist) yet both are a gift of our HP seen through your lens. Blessings

    December 13, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    • thank you for your words! keep writing please and have a great day! – Jasper

      December 13, 2011 at 9:31 pm

write your comment here!

