senior photos

Perhaps one day I will actually WRITE something worth reading on this little blog of mine. In the meantime, I’d like to quote a little Ansel in order to justify my ill attempts to add written comments on my blog…

“All I can do in my writing is to stimulate a certain amount of thought, clarify some technical facts and date my work. But when I preach sharpness, brilliancy, scale, etc., I am just mouthing words, because no words can really describe those terms and qualities it takes the actual print to say, “here it is.” Ansel Adams

“Not everybody trusts paintings but people believe photographs.” – Ansel Adams

“You don’t take a photograph, you make it.” – Ansel Adams

“I know some photographs that are extraordinary in their power and conviction, but it is difficult in photography to overcome the superficial power or subject; the concept and statement must be quite convincing in themselves to win over a dramatic and compelling subject situation.” – Ansel Adams

“There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs.” – Ansel Adams

And there you have it, no one could have said it better than Ansel himself. When I read the things he said, I understand that the man was not a brilliant photographer, he was simply brilliant. So what do other photographers say? Are the ones that are taking all of the good photos, also, speaking inspiration when they speak? Hoping to find out…

One response

  1. Bria Ballhaussen

    Ow ow! I just inherited a handsome bro! These look great Jaspy!

    October 2, 2011 at 7:30 pm

write your comment here!

